They Baptized Jesse Taylor

12 05 2008

It was early on Sunday morning when I woke up with the Johnnie Russell song in my mind The Baptism of Jesse Taylor. Talk about a blast from the past. There it was flowing like a rippling stream across my barely conscious brain. Good grief. I hadn’t even gotten out of bed yet. My eyes weren’t even open. Why that song popped into my head almost before I was conscious is still a mystery. I have no idea when I might have heard it last. And I didn’t even know who wrote or sang it until I washed the cobwebs out of my brain and with a strong cup of coffee and did a Google search.

(Parenthetically, the true effects of coffee are an illusion for me since I drink decaf due to a genetic heart disease. But it makes for a better story to say “I washed the cobwebs out of my brain with a strong cup of coffee.”)

In any case I found the words of the chorus running through my mind. “They baptized Jesse Taylor in Cedar Creek last Sunday. Jesus gained a soul the devil lost a good right arm.” Then I stopped. And a question began to form in my mind. Why did Jesus get a nebulous, non-corporal soul out of the deal when the devil lost a hard-living, cheating, drinking, fighting, complete with a body human being?

Maybe in my half-awake state I saw something not at all intended in the song, but why did Jesus not also gain a body? If the devil lost a good workman, did Jesus not potentially gain a good workman? Perhaps it is the unconscious view that permeates our religious thinking (even our civil religion) that God is primarily interested in saving souls. Why do we, too often, fail to think of God’s grace as transformation in action. God is not about saving souls. God is about bringing humans into communion with Godness!

I thought back to when I was a kid hearing people who said, “Given the choice between offering a starving man a piece of bread or the bread of life, we should offer them the eternal bread of life so when they die their souls will be saved.” I think that is a false set up and displays a lack of understanding of how our creator cares for the whole person. I remember watching someone pull a 12-14 year old kid out of a line in McDonalds, asking him if he was saved, forcing him to repeat a sinner’s prayer and then asking him where he would go if he died right now. The poor kid evidently get the right answer (to heaven) probably because he was no more saved after the prayer than the cars in the parking lot. But the “evangelist” continued to pressure him until he gave the right answer. Off to the side a group of people were chomping down on their burgers and fries, watching in admiration as their friend led this boy’s soul to Jesus. As soon as the kid said every thing he was supposed to say, the magic formula worked and his soul was saved.

This kind of thinking nuances our words and the way we think about salvation. It moves us to enter a dualistic world where physicality is not considered good, but our souls are that part of us which are really important. It is a denial of the importance of matter But along with Saint Athanasius let me say that I too have been saved by matter. God so loved the created (physical) order that he entered it, and provided a way for us to have even our very bodies be part of the salvation experience; hence the resurrection. Furthermore a human body, albeit a glorified one, sits at the right hand of the Father. Sounds like whole persons are pretty important to God!

I am glad I have not been charged with re-writing the afore-mentioned song. I just can’t get the thing to both rhyme and have sound theological content. Well Johnny Russell was song writer, not a theologian. And now you know why I am not a member of the Grand Old Opry.

Peace,

Leon


Actions

Information

6 responses

15 05 2008
Joe jr.

Oh the fine grindings of the uncaffeinated mind of the theologicaly inclined. I doubt even Mr. Russell gave that song that much thought. However as I followed along I had to completely agree with you. (Must be slippin’) The idea that the miracle glibbly refferred to as “salvation” is conferred willy nilly upon anyone willing to recite a quatrain is an insult to Christ. It’s no more possible than getting pregnant from quoting “roses are red”.
Also, I agree that there is little point in preaching to a starving man. “The body is not meant for fornication, but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body” Christ indeed desires the whole person. keep ’em coming

20 05 2008
Mark A Hershberger

awesome. Why do people think you’re a liberal again?

21 05 2008
beinganddoing

Mark.
Ever since I returned from living in Europe, almost 25 years ago, my understanding of political reality in this country has been out of sync with many. For example I am one of only two or three non-republican, don’t like Rush types, in my extended family. And I have been married twice so my extended family is pretty large!

So I get the liberal label.

Leon

21 05 2008
Mark A Hershberger

Oh…. European politics 😉

My trip to Haiti and then a summer in Clinton’s Governor’s School put me on the road to being a registered democrat. Oh noes!

24 07 2008
Kirby

Leon, I have never known you as anything but liberal on social and political issues. It has also been lots of fun poking at you from time to time when we disagree. One thing I have found, though, is that we can talk about our disagreements and they stay just that. I just wish our friends in the upper echelons of govt and our media elite could do the same. It seams mostly that dissagreement causes enemies. I like a comment that someone made on another blog where the writer noted that no matter which side of the fence you are on Jesus would be on the other. Jesus is THE model for righteousness. Our world view, whether liberal or conservative, matters not. It is Jesus who tells us what is right. In God’s eys, liberal and conservative do not exist.

For living in the Right (not necessarily ON the right),
Kirby

25 07 2008
beinganddoing

Of course, Kirby, that would be “liberal” as defined by whom? There are many people who would view me as conservative . I think I am probably middle of the road and everyone else is on the right or left of me. ;~)

Thanks for responding. Far too often people fail to consider the historical Jesus as a model for setting one’s political philosophy and instead attempt the return the favor of creation; making God in our own image. Makes for nasty politics.

Peace,

Leon

Leave a comment